5.11 Covert 18 Pack

I handled one for about 5 minutes that had been issued to a DUSM in my Courthouse.

The bottom line impression I was left with was that it should feel better made for the 100+ price tag.

While I know it has some "features" to better carry a weapon in the pack, I think that you could likely make something else work with somebody's else's USA made pack.

I also suspect that stuffered to its limits, it might be a bit tight going in regional jet overheads and under some seats.

YMMV
I've been lugging one around every day full of EDC shit since ~Apr2011.

My over-all impression isn't exactly glowing. If they stripped the MOLLE off a RUSH24 and gave it a minor Covrt facelift, I think it'd be a great EDC pack.

It hasn't fallen apart yet, which has surprised me. I expected better for the money. Same goes for the Covrt M4 bag which was missing a grab handle after the first day of use.

"A pistol is what you carry when you do not expect a problem. If you expect a problem you can't avoid, and you are not taking a long gun, you are not very smart." - DM

I've played with one at my local Streicher's store and I agree with the sentiments above. They could have done more and better with interior MOLLE and velcro fields. Also, for a largish backpack it seems like it would fill quickly. They quality, however, seemed good to me.
I had a sample for a few days recently to show around, but could not subject it to any real use. Initials impressions are that the design and layout was very...busy, for want of a better term. It was loaded with what I thought to be mostly gimmicky features, but not all were without utility. I found it to be typical of 5.11 widgets of this type: long on flash and flair, and short of its potential.

It would fit in the overheads and under seats on various CRJs, Embraers, and others I've flown on.

I would pick up a North Face Recon or similar model for discreet use and decent build. At a lower price point to boot.