7.62x39 AR Uppers

I’ve been considering adding a 7.62x39 AR upper to my stable. Are there viable alternatives to Palmetto State Armory and Rock River that I’m just not finding due to weak search foo? Any drawbacks to this set up in a DI gun other than (from what I’ve heard) generally dirty ammo?

Mojo/Mark
You want the good life, you break your back, you snap your fingers, you snap your neck... Prong/Demon Hunter

Original Post
1168 posted:

CMMG mutant, perhaps. I have no personal experience, though. Why 7.62? Not knocking it, just curious. 

Lots of ammo. I want a .30 Cal AR without the expense of a .308 or .300 B/O platform.  It’s an easy swap. Just a mag change if you have a complete upper. Mostly just want, no specific need other than that. 

Mojo/Mark
You want the good life, you break your back, you snap your fingers, you snap your neck... Prong/Demon Hunter

Magazines are an issue.  .300 Blackout is still more expensive than 7.62x39, but unless you're set on that caliber, why not BO?  It's easier to buy an upper and you don't have to deal with a radical (in comparison) curve in the magazine.  If you are using a standard magwell, then you have that mag (difficult and expensive to find), that is straight at the top and then really curved in the lower part.  If you are using AK mags, then the custom lower.

-------------------------

Mark

Swear allegiance to the flag Whatever flag they offer

Never hint at what you really feel

Teach the children quietly For some day sons and daughters

Will rise up and fight while we stood still

Joined:  2/24/2003                          Location:  Nevada, USA

I think the 7.62x39 in a bolt gun is pretty fascinating and cheap to shoot.   I like my CZ.

If you are just interested in the caliber, might want to give one of these a look.  Plus in may they have 10% off.

https://shop.whittakerguns.com/product/38252